(VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) On February 8, 2016, the Thoroughgood House and grounds were closed to the public for the construction of a new visitor education center. We are excited to announce that the Thoroughgood House Education Center will host a grand opening event on May 18, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. at the 1636 Parish Road site.
This newly constructed 2,700 square foot visitor center includes an exhibit area showcasing artifacts and exhibits discussing local history from the late 1500s through present day. The center also includes educational space for hosting groups, as well as a welcoming lobby.
The project began with a request for proposals in late August 2015, and Everest Construction Management Group was awarded the contract in January 2016. From there, the historic house closed to the public in February 2016 and staff moved the collection to a secure off-site location for storage. Construction began in March 2016 and the Education Center is almost ready to officially welcome guests.
“While we are still finalizing certain aspects of the Education Center,” said Anne Miller, Virginia Beach History Museums Manager, “it will provide us with even more opportunities to expand programming and events. We are excited to welcome visitors and school groups to our new space in May.”
About the Virginia Beach History Museums:
The Virginia Beach History Museums include the Francis Land House, Thoroughgood House, Lynnhaven House, and Princess Anne County Training School/Union Kempsville High School Museum. They are owned and operated by the City of Virginia Beach Department of Museums, which provides stewardship of the City’s historic resources and programs to educate the community about local history.# # #